NEHTA Connecting history teachers to history scholarship since 1897


The NEHTA sponsors four recognition awards, each given annually. To learn more or nominate an individual for an award, contact James David Moran at

The Kidger Awards
First awarded in 1952, the Kidger Awards are given each year to one college or university faculty member and one pre-college history teacher for excellence in teaching, research and writing, and service to the profession. The award honors Horace Kidger, a teacher in the Newton School and at Harvard who served as secretary for the NEHTA for a period spanning the two World Wars and some forty years.

Recent recipients have included David Brion Davis (Yale), Jill Lepore (Harvard), David Blight (Yale), James M. McPherson (Princeton), Kevin O’Reilly (Hamilton-Wenham Regional High School), Charles L. Newhall (St. John’s Preparatory School), and Mark C. Williams (Loomis Chaffee School).

Criteria and a Kidger Nomination form can be found here.


The Laska Award
First awarded in 2005, the Laska Award is a cash award given to an undergraduate with a declared major in history with a focus in United States History who is attending a college or university in New England to be used to further the recipient’s study of United States History. The award is named for the late well known History Professor, Dr. Vera Laska, a Kidger Award winner, and her husband Andrew J. Laska, who was a successful businessman.

For more information about Vera Laska’s life and experiences in the Holocaust, read this biography from the Shoah Foundation:

Laska biography

UPDATE: 2018 Award Applications Deadline March 31, 2018

 See attachment:

Laska Award 2018

National History Day Awards
These awards are given to student-historians whose research and entries on New England topics excel at state History Day contests across the six New England states.

The Hicks-Kennedy Award
This award is given in recognition of noteworthy and outstanding service to our organization.